printer friendly

Judging Panel

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards - 2000 Judging Panel

Ms Penelope Hetherington

Penelope Hetherington is an historian who is the author or editor of six books, including a book of poetry. She has also published a variety of articles on Western Australian history and Kenyan history in various scholarly journals. She is currently working on the history of childhood in 19th century Western Australia.

Mr Andre Malan

Andre Malan is a columnist and feature writer on The West Australian. He has worked on newspapers for more than 30 years in a range of positions including News editor, Features editor, Books editor and Asia desk chief.

Ms Jill Midolo

During her 30-year career as a Teacher Librarian, Jill Midolo has always been vitally concerned with the promotion of books and reading. She currently writes and edits curriculum journals, annotated bibliographies and Web content for Curriculum Materials Information Services Evaluation at the Education Department of Western Australia. She has completed a two-year term as the WA judge for the Children's Book Council annual awards.

Professor Vijay Mishra

Vijay Mishra is Professor of English and Comparative Literature and Head of the School of Arts at Murdoch University. During 1998-99 he was Professor of English at the University of Alberta, Canada. He has doctorates from the Australian National University and Oxford, and is the author of many books and articles on literature, aesthetics, cultural studies and film theory.

Share this page   share on Facebook share on Twitter share on stumbleupon

Page last updated: Thursday 16 August 2012