printer friendly

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards - 2010 Shortlist

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards - 2010 Shortlist

Non Fiction

Jim Davidson - A Three-Cornered Life: The Historian W.K. Hancock (UNSW Press)
Ben Hills - Breaking News (Scribe Publications)
Anna Krien  - Into The Woods: The Battle For Tasmania's Forests (Black Inc.)
Harry Dillon & Peter Butler - Macquarie (Random House Australia)
Brenda Walker - Reading by Moonlight (Penguin Group (Australia))
Ken Crispin - The Quest For Justice (Scribe Publications)



Ashley Hay - Body in the Clouds (Allen & Unwin)
Fiona McGregor - Indelible Ink (Scribe Publications)
Kim Scott - That Deadman Dance (Picador Australia)
Ouyang Yu - The English Class (Transit Lounge Publishing)
Stephen Daisley - Traitor (Text Publishing Company)
Lisa Lang- Utopian Man (Allen & Unwin)

Body-in-the-Cloudsindelible_ink_LR2011 Winner Kim Scott - That Deadman DanceEnglish-ClassTraitorUtopian-Man


Caroline Caddy - Burning Bright (Fremantle Press)
Jennifer Harrison - Colombine, New & Selected Poems (Black Pepper)
Mark Tredinnick - Fire Diary (Puncher & Wattmann)
David Musgrave - Phantom Limb (John Leonard Press)
Jennifer Maiden - Pirate Rain (Giramondo Publishing)
Kate Lilley - Selected Poems of Dorothy Hewett (UWA Publishing)


Children’s Books

Christine Bongers - Henry Hoey Hobson (Random House)
Janine M. Fraser/Illustrator Elise Hurst - Sarindi's Dragon Kite (HarperCollins Australia)
Isobelle Carmody - The Red Wind (Penguin Group Australia)
Cassandra Golds - The Three Loves of Persimmon            
(Penguin Group Australia)
Sally Murphy/Illustratior Rhian Nest James - Toppling (Walker Books)
Jeannie Baker - Mirror (Walker Books)

Henry-Hoey-HobsonSarandis-Dragon-KiteThe-Red-WindThe-Three-Loves-of-PersimmonToppling Mirror

Young Adults

James Roy - Anonymity Jones (Random House Australia)
Allen & Unwin - Happy as Larry (Scot Gardner)           
Michelle Cooper - The FitzOsbornes in Exile: The Montmaray Journals 2  (Random House)
Sonya Hartnett - The Midnight Zoo (Penguin Group (Australia))
Leanne Hall - This Is Shyness (Text Publishing Company)
A.J. Betts - Wavelength (Fremantle Press)



Patricia Cornelius - Do Not Go Gentle (HLA Management)
Tommy Murphy - Gwen In Purgatory (Currency Press)
Daniel Keene - Life Without Me (Currency Press)
Tom Holloway - Love Me Tender (HLA Management)
Ian Wilding - Quack (Currency Press)
Joanna Murray-Smith - Songs for Nobodies (Currency Press)


State Library of Western Australia WA History Award

Prof Andrea Whitcomb & Dr Kate Gregory - From the Barracks to the Burrup: The National Trust in Western Australia (UNSW Press)
Bill Bunbury - Till the Stream Runs Dry: A history of hydrography in WA (Department of Water)
Phyllis Barnes & Dr James Cameron - The Australind Journals of Marshall Waller Clifton 1840-1861 (Hesperian Press)
Dr J. J. E. Glover & Jenny Bevan - The Forgotten Explorers: pioneer geologists of Western Australia, 1826-1926 (Hesperian Press)
Dr Susanna Iuliano - Vite Italiane: Italian Lives in Western Australia (UWA Publishing)


Digital Narrative

Only a small number of entries were received for this category and there will not be a shortlist. An encouragement award will be announced at the Award presentation ceremony. 

Share this page   share on Facebook share on Twitter share on stumbleupon

Page last updated: Tuesday 4 September 2012