printer friendly

Categories and Prizes

The 2018 categories and prizes are as follows:

The Western Australian Writer’s Fellowship ($60,000)
The Fellowship is designed to assist a Western Australian writer, of any genre, to develop their writing practice and give them the time to create new work.

The Premier’s Prize for Writing for Children ($15,000)
For a work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction written for children (0 to 12 years of age), in any genre, by an author residing in Western Australia.

The Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer ($15,000)
For the first published work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction, in any genre, by an author residing in Western Australia.

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Indigenous Authors ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books)
For a new unpublished manuscript for a work of junior and young adult fiction, including graphic novels, by an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander writer – Australia wide. Supported by the State Government of Western Australia and the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, the winner will receive a cash prize of $15,000 and their manuscript will be published by Magabala Books, under the guidance of an Indigenous editor.

These Awards have been made available by the Western Australian Government and are managed by the State Library of Western Australia.

Share this page   share on Facebook share on Twitter share on stumbleupon

Page last updated: Friday 21 December 2018